Sony Music Publishing Songwriters Achieve Top GRAMMY Wins (pics)


The 64th annual GRAMMY Awards were held April 3 at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, and Sony Music Publishing songwriters and composers achieved some of the biggest wins of the evening. Following the telecast, Sony Music Group held a small, private celebration for the company’s artists and songwriters with limited capacity, safely following COVID protocols.

Olivia Rodrigo emerged as one of the leading winners, taking home three awards including Best New Artist and performing a moving rendition of her global hit single “drivers license,” co-written by SMP songwriter Dan Nigro, which won the Best Pop Solo Performance award. Rodrigo also won Best Pop Vocal Album for SOUR with SMP co-writers and producers Dan Nigro, Casey Smith and Alexander 23.

Album of the Year was awarded to Jon Batiste’s album We Are, co-written and produced bySMP songwriters Andrae Alexander, Autumn Rowe, Kizzo, PJ Morton, and Ricky Reed. In addition, Jack Antonoff took home this year’s Producer of the Year honor thanks to his work on Taylor Swift’s “Gold Rush,” Lana Del Rey’s Chemtrails Over the Country Club, and more, marking his third consecutive nomination and first win.

Top SMP winners also include Tyler, the Creator for Best Rap Album; Lady Gaga for Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album; Ye for Best Rap Song for “Jail” alongside Jay-Z and Warryn Campbell, as well Best Melodic Rap Performance award for “Hurricane,” co-written by Jahmal “Boogz” Gwin and Ronny J; Lucky Daye for Best Progressive R&B Album; Jason Evigan for Best Dance/Electronic Recording for Rufus Du Sol’s “Alive”; Tainy, Haze, Jose Ortiz and Nino Karlo Segarra for Best Música Urbana Album for Bad Bunny’s El Último Tour del Mundo; Guy Clark, Susanna Wallis Clark, Gary Nicholson, and Lee Roy Parnell for Best Country Album for Chris Stapleton’s Starting Over; and more.


Leave a Reply