NBA Awards: And The Winner Is…

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA – MARCH 06: Zion Williamson #1 of the New Orleans Pelicans warms up before a game against the Miami Heat at the Smoothie King Center on March 06, 2020 in New Orleans, Louisiana. NOTE TO USER: User expressly acknowledges and agrees that, by downloading and or using this Photograph, user is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement. (Photo by Jonathan Bachman/Getty Images)

Let the campaigning begin…the NBA announced that the regular-season award voting will end on July 28th and voters will consider games from the beginning of the season until March 11th, when the season paused due to COVID-19. Since the 8 remaining seeding games will not count, some players will not be able to make the push they needed to possibly overtake another player and win the award. This is especially the case for rookie sensation, Zion Williamson who got injured and won’t be able to surpass the great season by Ja Morant. So, there won’t be much of a debate for that award, but there is definitely a debate for this year’s MVP award.

It is a 2-man race between LeBron James and Giannis Antetokounmpo. At 35, James is having an impressive year. He is doing something for the first time in his career he is leading the league in assists per game and led the best team in the Western Conference, the Lakers. James reminded people that what he is doing is especially impressive at his age and in his conference. Even with his accomplishments this year, even with his coach and Magic campaigning for him to win it this year; you can’t ignore the accomplishments of Antetokounmpo. You can’t deny this per game stat line: 29.6 points, 13.7 rebounds, 5.8 assists and 54.7% shooting. He is also a part of a great defensive team, the Bucks; to go along with his MVP candidacy he is also a candidate for the Defensive Player of the Year. For you analytics lovers, his efficiency rating this year is top 5 in NBA history.

If Antetokounmpo wins it all will he be unfairly questioned like a certain youngest MVP (Derrick Rose)? Well just like that year the people questioning will be wrong. Sure, Lebron James is doing LeBron James things, but this year’s trophy belongs to Giannis Antetokounmpo. Debate me…


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here