Radio Facts

Marvin Gaye’s Overlooked Film Score Masterpiece,”Trouble Man” Re-Released for 40th Anniversary

 width=Marvin Gaye was already a hit artist for a decade when, in 1971, he reached new heights with his landmark album What’s Going On. His next move? A mostly instrumental, orchestral jazz-soul soundtrack for the forgotten 1972 film Trouble Man. The album, though a surprise to followers, was a hit, producing a top 10 pop title track and legions of new fans, including musicians who started the acid-jazz movement from its bones.

This November 19, for Trouble Man‘s 40th anniversary, Hip-oSelect.com/Motown releases an extraordinary exploration of Marvin’s creative leap: a 2-CD Expanded Edition that features not only the original soundtrack album remastered but 29 unreleased performances, including alternate takes, rare vocals and “” for the first time ever “” the full score for the film. Until the hardly seen film was repeated on television and issued on DVD in the last decade, many fans were unaware that Gaye’s film score and soundtrack album contained different music. They are now together, giving fans double the musical experience.

Trouble Man: 40th Anniversary Expanded Edition follows the tradition of previous Marvin Gaye reissues, by adding a beautiful digi-pak package that includes a 28-page booklet with photo outtakes, dozens of rare picture sleeves from around the world, and richly detailed text and track-by-track annotations. The set’s main essay by musicologist Dr. Andrew Flory tells the long-overlooked story behind the album, while various sidebar and additional essays include commentary from film directors Cameron Crowe and George Tillman Jr., and artists Lenny Kravitz, Joni Mitchell and Christian McBride.

Track list

Disc 1
1. Main Theme From Trouble Man (2)
2. “T” Plays It Cool
3. Poor Abbey Walsh
4. The Break In (Police Shoot Big)
5. Cleo’s Apartment
6. Trouble Man
7. Theme From Trouble Man
8. “T” Stands For Trouble
9. Main Theme From Trouble Man
10. Life Is A Gamble
11. Deep-In-It
12. Don’t Mess With Mr. T
13. There Goes Mr. T
14. Main Theme From Trouble Man (2) alternate take with strings
15. “T” Plays it Cool unedited version
16. Poor Abbey Walsh, Part 2 Take 1
17. Poor Abbey Walsh, Part 2 Take 2
18. Trouble Man extended version
19. Theme From Trouble Man vocal version
20. “T” Stands for Trouble unedited vocal version
21. “T” Stands for Trouble alternate version
22. Main Theme from Trouble Man vocal version

Disc 2
1. Trouble Man
2. Pool Hall
3. “T” Plays It Cool
4. Cadillac Interlude/Cleo’s Apartment
5. Man Tied Up/Jimmy’s West/Conversation with Cleo
6. Crap Game (a.k.a. The Break In)/Getting Rid Of Body/Talking To Angel
7. Outside Police Station
8. Bowling Alley Parking Lot
9. Stick Up
10. Cleaners/Cleo
11. Closing Jimmy’s
12. Police Break In
13. “T” Cleans Up/Police Station
14. Packing Up/Jimmy Gets Worked/Saying Goodbye/”T” Breaks In/Movie Theater
15. Car Ride/Looking for Pete
16. Parking Garage/Elevator
17. Penthouse
18. Getting Pete
19. My Name Is “T”/End Credits
20. “T” At The Cross

Disc 1, tracks 1-13: Original LP
Disc 1, tracks 14-22: Previously Unreleased Bonus Tracks
Disc 2, tracks 1-19: Previously Unreleased Original Film Score
Disc 2, track 20: Previously Unreleased Film Band Bonus Track

Leave a Comment