Texas riser BigXthaPlug is keeping the family close with his freshman album, Amar – released today via UnitedMasters. 

On the heels of his recent “Primetime” score, BigX doubles down on consistency and continues his hot streak with more new music. This time around, he delivers a 13-track LP that takes a deep dive into what inspires his tireless grind: the love for his son, Amar. The project includes features from fellow Texans Sauce WalkaErica BanksTay Money, and more.  

As he shares another insanely catchy, trapped-out sequence of hits that lay out a blueprint for how he became tha Plug, few can comprehend the Dallas rapper’s hustle. In fact, that’s one of X’s themes throughout the new album. “Rush Hour” is an all out blitz of sports-themed rhetoric that showcases his knack for storytelling. But it’s the nostalgia of paper chasing (as evidenced in tracks like “Badu Flow”) that BigX harkens back to that really shaped his artistry – even before he knew music was his calling.


On the new album, BigX explains:
“[‘Amar’] is inspired by my son’s first name, which refers to ‘everlasting life’. This project embodies the same energy and passion I see in my everyday life. Now, I’m doing more than just creating music — I’m creating an everlasting legacy that goes beyond my existence, and my music will pave the way.”

Since garnering support from media outlets like Revolt TVThe SourceAllHipHopStereogum, and more, BigX has unquestionably lived up to the hype. Plus, he sat down with XXL for their coveted The Break series, and even managed to work himself into SPIN Magazine’s 15 Artists To Watch In 2023 conversation. 

Amar arrives closely following BigX’s tour announcement as support on Key Glock’s 2023 “Glockoma Tour,” which kicks off next month (Mar 5) at the Coca-Cola Roxy in Atlanta, GA. The 32-date tour makes landfall across the U.S. in Philadelphia, Washington, D.C., New York, Los Angeles, and more before wrapping up in Nashville’s Marathon Music Works on April 28th.

Click HERE for tickets.

As BigXthaPlug remains hard at work proving that he can go bar for bar with the best, his raw delivery and tongue-in-cheek charisma will only further complement the work he’s already done. View the full tracklist to Amar by BigXthaPlug below, and listen to the full project HERE.

Amar Tracklist: 

1. Switched Up

2. Rush Hour

3. Primetime 

4. Texas 

5. Bad Bitches feat. Ro$ama

6. Bacc to tha Basics

7. Safehouse

8. Change

9. Badu Flow

10. I Know feat. Sauce Walka

11. Levels

12. Thick feat. Erica Banks & Tay Money 

13. Dream 


Leave a Reply