record store day

Today, RECORD STORE DAY announces its exclusive titles to be released on Saturday, April 23.  Warner Records, an official sponsor of RSD along with our affiliate labels celebrate with very limited-edition titles from Red Hot Chili Peppers, Gerard Way, Blur, Tegan Sara, and Tyler Bates.  Click here for complete details of where to shop in your area.
Our 15th annual Record Store Day exclusives for 2022 are as follows:
Red Hot Chili Peppers – Unlimited Love: 2xLP Silver Vinyl. Limited to 5,000 copies worldwide
Red Hot Chili Peppers will unveil their new album and twelfth full-length offering, Unlimited Love [Warner Records], on April 1, 2022. It notably marks their first recording with guitarist John Frusciante since 2006 and first with producer and longtime collaborator Rick Rubin since 2011. To herald Unlimited Love, the Los Angeles band (Anthony Kiedis, Flea, John Frusciante, Chad Smith) are releasing a limited-edition Record Store Day silver vinyl pressing with an exclusive 24×36 poster and a special cover for the RSD release printed on silver board.  Limited to 5,000 copies worldwide.
Gerard Way – Hesitant Alien: Blue vinyl LP. Limited to 9,000 copies worldwide.
Gerard Way will be releasing 9,000 copies of his solo debut album Hesitant Alien in limited edition blue vinyl. The My Chemical Romance lead singer worked with producer Doug McKean (MCR’s May Death Never Stop You: The Greatest Hits 2001-2013, Danger Days: The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys) on this full-length that was originally released in 2014. The album was described as “cool as fuck” byAlternative Press, while Kerrang said “the world needs rock stars. And Gerard has proved himself to be one of the best.”
“The Bureau”
“Action Cat”
“No Shows”
“Drugstore Perfume”
“Get The Gang Together”
“How Its Going To Be”
“Maya The Psychic”
Blur – Bustin’ + Dronin’: 2xLP (one transparent blue, one transparent green). Limited to 8,000 copies worldwide.
Blur will release a special, double heavyweight colored vinyl edition of their 1998, Japan-only remix album Bustin’ + Dronin’ featuring mixes of tracks from their 1997 eponymously titled, number one album. Originally only available as a 2-CD set including a Radio 1 John Peel session, only a handful of copies made their way over to the UK on import. Bustin’ + Dronin’ has never been available on vinyl before now, and this release features the nine remixes (note: no Peel Session) by William Orbit (tracks 1, 6, 7 & 9), Adrian Sherwood (2 & 8), Moby (4), Thurston Moore (5) and John McEntire (7). Released on two x heavyweight colored vinyl LPs – 1 x transparent blue, 1 x transparent green, the sleeve comes with an adapted version of the original Japanese OBI strip and replica insert.
“Movin’ On – William Orbit Mix
“Death Of A Party” (Well Blurred remix) Adrian Sherwood
“On Your Own” (Crouch End Broadway Mix) William Orbit
“Beetlebum” (Moby’s Mix) Moby
“Essex Dogs” (Thurston Moore’s Mix) Thurston Moore
“Death Of A Party” (Billy Whiskers Mix) William Orbit
“Theme From Retro” (John McEntire’s Mix) John McEntire
“Death Of A Party” (12” Death) Adrian Sherwood
“On Your Own” (Walter Wall Mix) William Orbit
Tegan and Sara – Still Jealous: Single vinyl 12” Opaque red vinyl. Limited to 6,000 copies worldwide
Tegan and Sara revisit the indie-pop duo’s 2004 breakout album, So Jealous, on a new version of the record titled, Still Jealous. It features the original’s 14 tracks, all of which have been re-recorded acoustically, with the twin sisters singing each other’s songs. The reimagined album will be available on 12″ opaque red vinyl and limited to 6,000 copies.
“You Wouldn’t Like Me”
“Take Me Anywhere”
“I Bet It Stung”
“I Know I Know I Know”
“Where Does the Good Go”
“I Won’t be Left”
“Walking With A Ghost”
“So Jealous”
“Speak Slow”
“Wake Up Exhausted”
“We Didn’t Do it”
“Fix you Up”
“I Can’t Take it”
Tyler Bates and Various Artists – Watchman: Music From the Motion Soundtrack – 3xLP (two yellow, one blue). Limited to 10,500 copies worldwide.
A limited first-time Watchmen 3-LP, Record Store Day exclusive release, that combines Music From The Motion Picture and the Original Motion Picture Score by Tyler Bates. Score and Soundtrack were both originally released separately in 2009. Music From the Motion Picture is pressed on “Smiley Face” yellow vinyl and features tracks from My Chemical Romance, Leonard Cohen, Nat King Cole and Jimi Hendrix and a custom etching. The Original Score is by Tyler Bates and is pressed on “Dr. Manhattan” blue vinyl.
“Desolation Row” – (Bob Dylan) Performed by My Chemical Romance
“Unforgettable” – Nat King Cole
“The Times They Are A-Changin’ – Bob Dylan
“The Sound Of Silence” – Simon & Garfunkel
“Me and Bobby McGee” – Janic Joplin
“I’m Your Boogie Man – KC & The Sunshine Band
“You’re My Thrill” – Billie Holiday
“Pruit Igoe & Prophecies – the Philip Glass Ensemble
“Hallelujah” – Lenard Cohen
“All Along The Watchtower” (Bob Dylan) Performed by Jimi Hendrix
“Ride of The Valkyries” – Budapest Symphony Orchestra
“Pirate Jenny (Live)” – Nina Simone
and Original Motion Picture Score – Tyler Bates
For more information on releases please visit www.recordstoreday.com
About Record Store Day:
Record Store Day, the organization, is managed by the Department of Record Stores and is organized in partnership with the Alliance of Independent Media Stores (AIMS), the Coalition of Independent Music Stores (CIMS) and promotes independent record stores year-round with events, special releases and other fun things. Record Store Day, the global celebration of the culture of the record store, has taken place annually in April.


Leave a Reply