Six Members Of Congress Add Support For Local Radio Freedom Act


lacy claySix Members of the House of Representatives have added their names as co-sponsors of a resolution that opposes “any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge” on local broadcast radio Radio Station s. The Local Radio Freedom Act is now currently co-sponsored by 177 Members of the House and 12 Senators.The members of the bipartisan group adding their support to the Local Radio Freedom Act are Reps. Wm. Lacy Clay (MO-1), Virginia Foxx (NC-5), Ralph Hall (TX-4), David Scott (GA-13), Fred Upton (MI-6), and Randy Weber (TX-14).Reps. Michael Conaway (R-TX) and Gene Green (D-TX) introduced the Local Radio Freedom Act (H. Con. Res. 16) in the House of Representatives on February 15 along with 71 additional co-sponsors. An identical resolution (S. Con. Res. 6) was introduced in the Senate on March 6 by Sens. John Barrasso (R-WY) and Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND).”Congress should not impose any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge relating to the public performance of sound recordings on a local radio Radio Station for broadcasting sound recordings over-the-air, or on any business for such public performance of sound recordings,” reads the Local Radio Freedom Act.

Subscribe to Radio Facts

* indicates required


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here