WGN AMERICA LAUNCHES BRAND-NEW DEDICATED ‘UNDERGROUND’ MOBILE APP

0
28

WGN AMERICA LAUNCHES BRAND-NEW DEDICATED ‘UNDERGROUND’ MOBILE APP 
underground-slide
Fans of the #1 Most Social Cable Program on Wednesday Nights Can Access and Share
 “Underground” Content Across Digital Platforms
L-R: Jurnee Smollett-Bell as Rosalee, Aldis Hodge as Noah in WGN America’s “Underground”
Fans of WGN America’s hit series “Underground,” the #1 most social cable program on Wednesday nights, can now enjoy a new, dedicated custom mobile appUnderground WGN — available for free download starting today on iPhone, iPad and on Android phones.   

Featuring all things “Underground,” the app includes exclusive behind-the-scenes videos, information and regularly updated content that subscribers can download, integrate and share across their Twitter, Facebook and Instagram profiles.  Fans can also tap into the “Underground” website, where users can view episodes through their cable provider login and find out where the record-breaking series airs in their area through the app’s WGN America Channel Finder.


“The response to ‘Underground,’ from the favorable reviews, social media frenzy and the strong ratings, has been absolutely amazing.  And now passionate fans of the show have a one stop shop where they can get the content they love at any time, all in one place,” said Brian Dollenmayer, executive vice president, marketing and promotions, WGN America.


“Underground” is becoming part of the national zeitgeist, trending week-after-week on Twitter and delivering an enormous 3.1 million Total Viewers on Wednesday nights in Live + 7 delivery.  Now, fans who are already actively engaged with the series on social media, and who live tweet along with the cast and creative team each Wednesday night, can get the latest “Underground” news and sharable content posted exclusively for subscribers to access whenever they want and wherever they are.

To download the “Underground” app:
iPhone/iPad
Android
From creators and executive producers Misha Green and Joe Pokaski, and executive producer and Academy Award®-winner John Legend, the 10-episode, hour-long program tells the unflinching story of a group of courageous men and women who band together for the fight of their lives – for their families, their future and their freedom. 


WGN America and Tribune Studios
WGN America, the flagship entertainment network of Tribune Media Company (NYSE: TRCO) is nationally distributed in nearly 80 million homes via cable, satellite and telco, with high-quality entertainment programming including the breakout hit series “Outsiders,” “Underground” and “Salem.”

The network also brings its audience a strong slate of popular first-run syndicated series and blockbuster movies.  Through Tribune Studios, the creative development arm of Tribune Media, original content is produced for WGN America and Tribune local Radio Stations nationwide.  Follow the network on Twitter @wgnamerica. 

For additional information, please visit www.wgnamerica.com.


“Underground” cast on Twitter:
Jurnee Smollett-Bell @jurneesmollett
Aldis Hodge @AldisHodge
Christopher Meloni @Chris_Meloni
Alano Miller @AlanoMiller
Jessica de Gouw @jessdegouw
Amirah Vann @amirahvann
Marc Blucas @marcblucas
Reed Diamond @reeddiamond
Johnny Ray Gill @JohnnyRayGill
Theodus Crane @theoduscrane
Mykelti Williamson @mykeltiwmson
Adina Porter @AdinaPorter
Jussie Smollett @jussiesmollett
Christopher Backus @_cbackus
PJ Marshall @ThePJMarshall
James Lafferty @ThisIsLafferty
Chris Chalk @chalkchris
 
“Underground” creative team on Twitter:
John Legend @johnlegend
Misha Green @mishatrillXXL
Joe Pokaski @JoePokaski
Anthony Hemingway @shinybootz
Akiva Goldsman @AkivaGoldsman
Mike Jackson @mikemjackson312
Ty Stiklorius @tystiklorius