Cynthia Erivo, Melanie Campbell, and Others to appear at the Salute Her Awards


In celebration of Women’s History Month, Café Mocha is honoring seven women for their resilience and innovation that include Holly Robinson PeeteCynthia ErivoDr. Kizzmekia Corbett, LaTosha Brown, and more phenomenal female trailblazers.

As women step boldly into 2021 prepared to stand for democracy, beat the COVID-19 pandemic, and raise their voices against racism, the Café Mocha show pays tribute to those women and organizations who have initiated global change with the critically acclaimed ‘Saluting Our Culture’ Awards series.



The Café Mocha show, crowned the #1 nationally syndicated radio show for women of color’, has over the past ten years honored more than 200 women who have a common mission to make a difference by serving their communities. This year’s creating a legacy’ theme will recognize women who exemplify resilience and innovation with a commitment to build a legacy of connections for the next generation. 
Presented by Toyota and AARP, this unique virtual celebratory Award series celebrates Women’s History Month with the Salute Her Awards, streaming March 21st at 7 pm. Hosted by Café Mocha co-host and EMMY & 2x NAACP Image Award-winning talk show host Loni Love.
Additional awards ceremonies in the ‘Saluting Our Culture‘ series include the  Salute THEM [Together Heroes Emerge Momentous] Awards And the Beat Goes On! that will pay homage to the musical root of our culture in recognition of Black Music Month on June 6th. In September, the awards will celebrate the men and women who represent the ‘rich culture’ of HBCU’s highlighting a cross-section of celebrities, innovators, and front-line workers; who all share a common bond.

Sunday, March 21, 2021
7pm ET / 4pm PT
The virtual celebration will stream via  

2021 Salute Her honorees include:
Holly Robinson Peete
Actress, author, TV host, and Co-founder of HollyRod Foundation
Toyota Champion Award
Cynthia Erivo
Grammy® Emmy® and Tony® Award-winning actress, singer, and producer
Creating the Legacy Award
LaTosha Brown
Co-Founder, Black Voters Matter
Champion for Change Award
Denene Millner
New York Times Bestselling Author & Founder of
Champion for Children Award
Pinky Cole
CEO/Founder, Slutty Vegan
Powerhouse Award
Dr. Kizzmekia Corbett
Scientific Lead, Coronavirus Vaccines & Immunopathogenesis Team at NIH
Game Changer Award
Melanie Campbell
President/CEO, National Coalition on Black Civic Participation, convener, Black Women’s Roundtable
Trailblazer Award
With musical performances from multiple Grammy & Stellar Award-winning “Rose of Gospel Music” Dr. Dorinda Clark Cole, 4x Grammy-nominated singer/songwriter Eric Benet; 2x Grammy Award-winning singer & 2014 Salute Her honoree Gloria Gaynor, and musician/poet Morgan Harper Nichols.

Proceeds from the Salute Her Awards benefit the Mocha Cares Foundation to support housing and services to combat homelessness and domestic violence through mentorship programs.
With such a rich legacy of honorees over the past ten years, the #SaluteHer200
‘Soulidarity’ Hall of Fame will be established, including Pam Grier, Leslie Uggams, Patti LaBelle, Shirley Caesar, Vanessa Bell Calloway, Fantasia Barrino Taylor, Lynn Whitfield, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Terri J. Vaughn, and a host of others.

Leave a Reply