NAB Inducts Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Garcia into Broadcasting Hall of Fame


he National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) announced Adrian “Stretch Armstrong” Bartos and Bobbito García as the 2023 NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame inductees for radio.

NAB Inducts Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Garcia into Broadcasting Hall of Fame

The revolutionary pair, who came to fame hosting the “Stretch Armstrong and Bobbito Show” at Columbia University’s WKCR-FM in the 1990s, will be inducted at a special ceremony on the main stage at NAB Show on April 17, 2023 in Las Vegas, Nevada.

The induction of Bartos and García into the Broadcasting Hall of Fame coincides with the 50th anniversary of hip-hop, which will be celebrated throughout 2023

Their self-titled show was a 1990s hip-hop radio phenomenon, launching the careers of superstar artists such as Jay Z, Nas, Wu-Tang Clan, The Notorious B.I.G. and Eminem.

Their show, which ran from 1990 to 1998, was named as the “Best Hip Hop Radio Show of All Time” by The Source magazine and was the subject of the documentary “Stretch and Bobbito: Radio That Changed Lives” that was released in 2015. Their influence stretches beyond music, impacting multiple aspects of urban culture, from sneakers and sports to art.

In addition to his notoriety as a DJ, Bobbito García is a former professional basketball player and critically acclaimed author, known for his unique “sneaker journalism.”

He wrote a book titled, “Where’d You Get Those? NYC’s Sneaker Culture: 1960-1987” and then went on to host a first-of-its-kind series on ESPN, “It’s the Shoes.” After being part of the groundbreaking Nike “Freestyle” commercial, the brand released seven co-designed Air Force 1 sneakers with García. He is also the voice of EA Sports’ NBA Street video game.

Adrian “Stretch Armstrong” Bartos started in the 1980s as a DJ in downtown New York City venues. He is now a recognized DJ and plays events worldwide, performing an eclectic mix of classic hip-hop, reggae and club music. Bartos also wrote a book on party promo art and dance culture titled, “No Sleep: NYC Nightlife Flyers 1988-1999.”

“Adrian Bartos and Bobbito García changed the trajectory of the hip hop genre and had a profound impact on radio audiences,” said NAB President and CEO Curtis LeGeyt. “Their innovative work at WKCR-FM, elevating the profile of unsigned musicians and introducing them to new fans, launched the careers of countless award-winning artists. We are honored to induct them into the NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame.”

The NAB Broadcasting Hall of Fame recognizes radio and television personalities or programs that have earned a place in broadcasting history. Past inductees include Jim Bohannon, “All Things Considered,” John Records Landecker, Cathy Hughes, Elvis Duran and Delilah. Explore the complete list of past inductees here.


Leave a Reply