MANK, TENET, DA 5 BLOODS and SOUL Motion Picture Winners at the 25th Annual Art Directors Guild Awards

"THE MANDALORIAN," "OZARK," "THE QUEEN'S GAMBIT," "SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE," "WHAT WE DO IN THE SHADOWS," "BLACK IS KING" and "WILL & GRACE" Among Television WinnersThe Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) announced winners of its 25thAnnual ADG Awards in 12 categories of film, television, commercials and music videos. The hybrid virtual gala, recognizing 25 years of resilience, was held Saturday night, April 10, 2021. Mank (Donald Graham Burt), Tenet (Nathan Crowley), Da 5 Bloods (Wynn Thomas), and Soul (Steve Pilcher), won Best Production Design for Feature Film.


The Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) announced winners of its 25thAnnual ADG Awards in 12 categories of film, television, commercials and music videos. The hybrid virtual gala, recognizing 25 years of resilience, was held Saturday night, April 10, 2021. Mank (Donald Graham Burt), Tenet(Nathan Crowley), Da 5 Bloods(Wynn Thomas), and Soul(Steve Pilcher), won Best Production Design for Feature Film. Watch the whole awards show here.

Television winners included “The Mandalorian: Chapter 13: The Jedi”(Andrew L. Jones, Doug Chiang), “Ozark: Wartime”(David Bomba), “The Queen’s Gambit” (Uli Hanisch), “What We Do in the Shadows: Resurrection, Collaboration, Witches”(Kate Bunch), and “Will & Grace: Accidentally on Porpoise, We Love Lucy, It’s Time” (Glenda Rovello), “Saturday Night Live: Host: John Mulaney + Music: David Byrne, Host: Adele + Music: H.E.R., Host: Dave Chappelle + Music: Foo Fighters” (Keith Raywood, Eugene Lee, Akira Yoshimura, N. Joseph De Tullio), “Black Is King” (Hannah Beachler, Carlos Laszlo, Susan Linss, Miranda Lorenz, Brandon Mendez, Rika Nakanishi, Ethan Tobman) respectively. The Web Series, Music Video or Commercial award was bestowed upon “Harry Styles: Falling” (François Audouy).

ADG Awards 2021 2684 scaled

The awards took place before an audience of more than 4,000 worldwide and was hosted by comedian JB Smoove, co-star of HBO’s “Curb Your Enthusiasm.” ADGPresident Nelson Coates, ADG,andArt Directors Council Chair Mark Worthington, ADG, presided over the awards ceremony. Producer of this year’s ADG Awards (#ADGawards) was Production Designer Scott Moses, ADG; event was co-produced by Matt Ringer. Emmy-winning Production Designer James Pearse Connelly, ADG, and Actress/Comedian Dierdre Friel hosted the Pre-Show retrospective celebrating the 25th Anniversary of the ADG Awards.

“I’m grateful we were able to share our open awards event with all of our members, their families, friends, and coworkers this year. The show was designed to celebrate the resilience shown by our guild and the entire industry as a community in a year unlike any other in our lifetime. The work recognized here represents the best of the collective skills within the ADG to bring stories alive with limitless imagination,” said Scott Moses.

JB Smoove 2975 scaled

Presenters included Oscar®-nominated actress Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm), Oscar-nominated executive producer and actress Carey Mulligan (Promising Young Woman); producer, writer and director Emerald Fennell (Promising Young Woman);entrepreneur, supermodel and Emmy®-winning television producer and personality Tyra Banks; Aasif Mandvi (CBS’s hit show “Evil”); Emmy nominated actress Jenna Elfman (“Fear the Walking Dead,” “Dharma and Greg”), Brian Tee (“Chicago Med”), Jordi Molla (“Jack Ryan”), Nicco Annan (“P-Valley”) and Ross Mathews (“RuPaul’s Drag Race,”) among others.

Ryan Murphy, Emmy, Golden Globe®, Tony® and Peabody® Award-winning screenwriter, producer, and director, received the esteemed Cinematic Imagery Award, honoring his prestigious spectrum of extraordinary productions reflecting the highest quality of production design. A comprehensive clip reel was presented, spotlighting the spectrum of Murphy’s award-winning shows which have garnered him six Primetime Emmys®, 26 additional award wins, and an unprecedented 72 nominations. He is the originator of the popular American television programs “American Horror Story,” “American Crime Story,” “Pose,” “Hollywood,” “Feud,” “Glee,” and “The New Normal” among many others. Presenting the award to Murphy was Matt Bomer, star of many of Murphy’s shows including “Boys in the Band.”

Winner Da 5 Bloods Wynn Thomas 2
Winner – Da 5 Bloods –