Jonathon Brandmeier to Host 33rd Annual Radio Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Celebrating 100 Years of Radio


The Museum of Broadcast Communications announced today that Radio Hall of Famer and legendary Chicago radio personality, Jonathan Brandmeier – known to millions as “Johnny B” – will host the in-person 2021 Radio Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Thursday, October 28, 2021, at the Wintrust Grand Banking Hall in Chicago. The ceremony will honor eight new inductees as well as a new class of 33 Legacy inductees, into the RADIO HALL OF FAME for 2021.

The ceremony will also honor those Radio Hall of Fame inductees from 2020, when a virtual ceremony was held as an alternative to the in-person ceremony. Tickets for the in-person event are on sale now at A portion of ticket purchases is a tax-deductible charitable donation to the Museum of Broadcast Communications.  

Kraig T. Kitchin, Radio Hall of Fame chairman, commented: “Jonathon Brandmeier is as talented on stage as he is behind the microphone. This years’ induction ceremony honors both our Class of 2021 as well as welcoming the 2020 Inductees.  We’ll need great energy on stage and Johnny B. is the perfect host.”   


  • Brother Wease – Radio 95.1, Rochester, NY 

Longstanding Network/Syndication (20 years or more)

  • Elliot Segal – DC 101, Washington, DC  

Active Local/Regional (10 years or more)

  • Dan Patrick – The Dan Patrick Show 

Longstanding Networks/Syndication (20 years or more)

  • Kim Komando – The Kim Komando Show

Active Network/Syndication (10 Years or more)

  • Javier Romero – WAMR-FM/Amor 107.5, Univision Miami

Music Format On-Air Personality 

  • Preston & Steve – 93.3 WMMR, Philadelphia, PA

Spoken Word On-Air Personality

  • Erica Farber, President and CEO, Radio Advertising Bureau
  • Bill Siemering, Founding Director of Programming and Founding Member of the Board of Directors, NPR

Four inductees were determined by a voting participant panel comprised of more than 600 industry professionals and four inductees were voted on by the Radio Hall of Fame Nominating Committee, two with input from the public.  The outcome of the listener vote for a music format and spoken word format on-air personality counted as one vote among the committee votes. The process was overseen by the certified public accounting firm Miller Kaplan Arase LLP.  

In addition, to honor the 100th year of radio, the Radio Hall of Fame has established a Legends induction, recognizing the talents and efforts of air personalities, programmers and operators who although they have died, spent their lives contributing their talents to the industry. While the industry celebrates 100 years of existence, the industry’s Hall of Fame is only 33 years into existence. The centennial milestone provides an opportunity to recognize the talents and efforts of 33 individuals in 2021, as well.  

The following 33 radio legends take their place in the Radio Hall of Fame immediately, in celebration of the 100th anniversary of radio:

  • Aku aka Hal Lewis, air personality in Honolulu in 1960-1980’s on KGU and KGMB;
  • Raul Alarcon Sr., radio executive and founder of Spanish Broadcast Systems (SBS);
  • Jackson Armstrong, air personality in Cleveland in 1960–1980’s on WIXY, WKYC, WKBW and other stations;
  • Dr. Joy Browne, syndicated talk radio air personality based from WOR-AM / New York City;
  • Frankie Crocker, air personality in Buffalo and New York City in 1950–1980’s on WUFO, WWRL, WMCA  and WBLS-FM;
  • Don Cornelius, air personality, WVON-AM, Chicago;
  • Tom Donahue, air personality in San Francisco in 1960– 1980’s on KYA, KMPX, KSAN;
  • Bill Drake, programmer and founder, Drake-Chenault Enterprises;
  • Arlene Francis, air personality in New York City in 1930-1960’s and first female host of NBC’s Monitor;
  • Barry Gray, talk radio air personality in 1940-1980’s in New York City on WOR and WMCA;
  • Toni Grant, talk radio air personality in Los Angeles in 1970-1980’s on KABC-AM and others via syndication;
  • Petey Greene, air personality in Washington D.C. in 1960-1980’s on WOL-AM;
  • Maurice “Hot Rod“ Hulbert, air personality in Baltimore and Memphis in 1950 -1970’s;
  • Jocko Henderson, air personality in Philadelphia, New York and Baltimore in 1950-1970’s;
  • E. Rodney Jones, air personality in Chicago in the 1960’s on WVON-AM;
  • Chuck Leonard, air personality in New York City in 1960-1970’s on WWRL, WABC, WXLO, WRKS, WBLS and others;
  • Melvin Lindsey, the originator of the “Quiet Storm“ late-night music programming format and Washington D.C air personality    the 1970-1980’s;
  • Ron Lundy, air personality in New York City in 1960–1980’s on WABC and WCBS-FM;
  • Mary Margaret McBride, nationally syndicated talk personality based in New York City, 1930-1970’s;
  • Ruth Ann Meyer, programmer of New York City radio stations in 1950-1960’s;
  • Murray “Murray the K” Kaufman, air personality in New York City, 1950-1980’s on stations WINS and WOR-FM;
  • Manuel “Paco“ Navarro, air personality in New York City in 1970-1980’s on WKTU-FM;
  • Pat O’Day, air personality, station owner and concert promoter in Seattle in 1960-1980’s;
  • Eddie O’Jay, air personality and pioneer of R&B radio in Milwaukee and Cleveland in 19960-1980’s;
  • Stu Olds, radio executive and CEO, Katz Media 1970-2010;
  • Alison Steele, air personality in New York City in 1960-1980’s on WNEW-AM and WNEW-FM;
  • “The Real” Don Steele, air personality in 1950-1980’s in Los Angeles on various stations;
  • Martha Jean “The Queen“ Steinberg, air personality in Memphis and Detroit in 1950-1980’s;
  • Todd Storz, radio executive and owner of Storz Broadcasting Company;
  • Jay Thomas, air personality in New York and Los Angeles in 1970-1990’s;
  • Rufus Thomas, air personality in Memphis in 1950-1980’s;
  • McHenry “Mac” Tichenor, radio executive, broadcast station owner of Tichenor Media (Heftel);
  • Nat D. Williams, air personality in Memphis in 1940-1970’s on WDIA-AM.

The Mix Group is the presenting sponsor of the Radio Hall of Fame 2021 induction ceremony. Fans and industry professionals can find more information, including photos of the inductees, at

The Radio Hall of Fame was founded by the Emerson Radio Corporation in 1988. The Museum of Broadcast Communications took over operations in 1991. 
The Museum of Broadcast Communications is recognizing radio’s 100th anniversary with a variety of events and a brand new ‘Century of Radio’ exhibit, debuting in the Fall of 2021 through 2022, including special tributes and recognition of the many talented men and women who have contributed to the medium’s ongoing success.   


Leave a Reply