iHeartRadio Music Awards 2022 Recap (pics)


The 2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards brought the biggest names in entertainment together from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles to celebrate all things music, live on FOX, iHeartMedia radio stations nationwide and on the iHeartRadio App, on Tuesday, March 22. Hosted by LL COOL J, the fan-fueled iHeartRadio Music Awards featured performances and incredible collaborations including LL COOL J, Jennifer Lopez, Megan Thee Stallion, Jason Aldean, John Legend, Charlie Puth and Måneskin.

The 2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards honored the legendary Jennifer Lopez with the 2022 iHeartRadio Icon Award, honoring her global impact on pop culture, longevity and continued relevance as a touring and radio force with a loyal fan base worldwide. 

In addition, the show featured special appearances from Olivia Rodrigo, Silk Sonic, Lil Nas X, Billy Porter, The Kid LAROI, David Guetta, Avril Lavigne, Shaun White, All Time Low, Willow Smith, Robin Thicke, Nicole Scherzinger, Gina Torres, Oliver Hudson, Taylor Momsen, Lainey Wilson, Dove Cameron, Danica McKellar, Kelly Rowland and more.

The official hashtag of the evening, #iHeartAwards2022, trended on Twitter Worldwide and in the U.S. 

The 2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards is available to watch on FOX NOW and Hulu through April 12. 

Additional highlights included: 

  • Host of the evening, LL COOL J opened the 2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards with a powerful performance as he wowed the live audience with a medley of his hit songs, “Don’t Call It a Comeback,” “Mama Said Knock You Out,” “Rampage,” “The Boomin System” and more.
  • Shaun White presented Italian rockers Måneskin with the award for Best New Alternative Artist presented by Stifel before the band gave fans a rock-infused performance of their mega-hit song, “Beggin,” and “I Wanna Be Your Slave.”
  • LL COOL J presented Jennifer Lopez with the 2022 iHeartRadio Icon Award – later in the evening, Jennifer Lopez returned to the stage to mesmerize fans with her show-stopping dance moves as she performed her new single, “On My Way” and “Get Right.” Billy Porter introduced her performance which opened with a fashion show featuring drag queens, including stars from RuPaul’s Drag Race, rocking J. Lo’s most iconic looks throughout the years.
  • Kelly Rowland presented Megan Thee Stallion withthe iHeartRadio Trailblazer Award before a sultry performance of “Megan’s Piano” and “Sweetest Pie.”
  • Lainey Wilson introduced Country Song of the Year winner, Jason Aldean to the iHeartRadio Music Awards stage. With his band in tow, he opened his set with an electrifying performance of “Dirt Road,” before continuing with his new hit songs, “Trouble With A Heartbreak” and “If I Didn’t Love You.”
  • Gina Torres introduced a special dueling piano collaboration from John Legend and Charlie Puth – as they each performed snippets of the other artists’ hits– Legend sang verses of Puth’s “See You Again,” “We Don’t Talk Anymore” and
    “Attention,” while Puth performed Legend’s “Ordinary People” and “Tonight (Best You Ever Had)” before they serenaded the audience with “All Of Me.” The duo, who co-wrote songs together, also surprised fans with a performance of “Dope” and “Light Switch.”

Category winners were:

Song of the Year:

  • “Levitating” – Dua Lipa

Female Artist of the Year:

  • Olivia Rodrigo

Male Artist of the Year:

  • Lil Nas X

Best Duo/Group of the Year:

  • Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic

Best Collaboration:

  • “Stay” – The Kid LAROI & Justin Bieber

Best New Pop Artist:

  • Olivia Rodrigo

Pop Album of the Year:

30 – Adele

Alternative Song of the Year:

  • “Monsters” – All Time Low featuring blackbear

Alternative Artist of the Year:

  • Machine Gun Kelly

Best New Alternative Artist presented by Stifel:

  • Måneskin

Alternative Album of the Year:

  • Happier Than Ever – Billie Eilish

Rock Song of the Year:

  • “Waiting On A War” – Foo Fighters

Rock Artist of the Year:

  • Foo Fighters

Best New Rock Artist presented by Stifel:

  • Mammoth WVH

Rock Album of the Year:

  • Medicine at Midnight – Foo Fighters

Country Song of the Year:

  • “If I Didn’t Love You” – Jason Aldean & Carrie Underwood

Country Artist of the Year:

  • Luke Combs

Best New Country Artist presented by Stifel:

  • Lainey Wilson

Country Album of the Year:

  • Dangerous: The Double Album – Morgan Wallen           

Dance Song of the Year:

  • “Do It To It” – ACRAZE featuring Cherish

Dance Artist of the Year:

  • David Guetta

Dance Album of the Year:

  • Future Nostalgia – Dua Lipa

Hip-Hop Song of the Year:

  • “What You Know Bout Love” – Pop Smoke

Hip-Hop Artist of the Year:

  • Drake

Best New Hip-Hop Artist presented by Stifel:

  • Yung Bleu

Hip-Hop Album of the Year:

  • The Off-Season – J. Cole

R&B Song of the Year:

  • “Leave The Door Open” – Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic

R&B Artist of the Year:

  • Jazmine Sullivan

Best New R&B Artist presented by Stifel:

  • Giveon

R&B Album of the Year:

  • An Evening with Silk Sonic – Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak, Silk Sonic

Latin Pop/Reggaeton Song of the Year:

  • “Pepas” – Farruko

Latin Pop/Reggaeton Artist of the Year:

  • Bad Bunny

Latin Pop/ Reggaeton Album of the Year:

  • KG0516 – Karol G        

Regional Mexican Song of the Year:

  • “La Casita” – Banda Sinaloense MS De Sergio Lizárraga

Regional Mexican Artist of the Year:

  • Calibre 50

Regional Mexican Album of the Year:

  • Corta Venas – Eslabón Armado

Best New Latin Artist presented by Stifel:

  • Grupo Firme

iHeartRadio Icon Award:

  • Jennifer Lopez

iHeartRadio Trailblazer Award:

  • Megan Thee Stallion

iHeartRadio Tour of the Year:

  • Harry Styles

iHeartRadio Chart Ruler Award – Most Weeks at #1 at CHR (12 Weeks):

  • “Stay” – The Kid LAROI & Justin Bieber

iHeartRadio Hat Trick Award – 3 #1 singles from the same album at CHR:

  • Lil Nas X

Producer of the Year:

  • Finneas

Songwriter of the Year:

  • Omer Fedi

Label of the Year

  • Republic Records

Best Lyrics: *Socially Voted Category

  • “All Too Well (10 Minute Version) (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)” – Taylor Swift

Best Cover Song: *Socially Voted Category

  • “good 4 u” (Olivia Rodrigo) – Camila Cabello

Best Fan Army: *Socially Voted Category


Best Music Video: *Socially Voted Category

  • “Butter” – BTS

Social Star Award: *Socially Voted Category

  • Bella Poarch

Favorite Tour Photographer: *Socially Voted Category

  • Love On Tour (Harry Styles) – Anthony PHAM

TikTok Bop of the Year*Socially Voted Category

  • “good 4 u” – Olivia Rodrigo

Best Comeback Album (New Category): *Socially Voted Category

  • 30 – Adele

TikTok Songwriter of the Year (New Category): *Socially Voted Category

  • Jax

For a full list of categories visit www.iheart.com/awards.

Executive producers for the “iHeartRadio Music Awards” are Joel Gallen, for Tenth Planet; and John Sykes, Tom Poleman and Bart Peters, for iHeartMedia.

Proud partners of the 2022 iHeartRadio Music Awards include Stifel – supporting artists and fans alike by providing the right advisors to navigate their success. Additional proud partners across iHeartRadio platforms include California Community Colleges, HEINEKEN, Logitech, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and Warner Bros. Pictures’ “Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here