The Estate for the legendary MC Phife Dawg is excited to unveil the very special music video for single “Forever.” The video premiered today via VIBE.

Watch the “Forever” Music Video HERE.

Listen to Forever HERE.

Of the tribute, video director Tony Reames shared, “When I first heard ‘Forever’, I was not prepared for the depth and honesty, it took me a long time to let it all sink in. DJ Rasta Root came up with the idea of personal photos and videos to match the message for the video. The lyrics are also all in Phife’s own handwriting, we scanned in a lot of his writings to create a font as if Phife himself was telling you the story. I’m forever grateful to be around Phife, his family and everyone we met along the way.”

Dion “DJ Rasta Root” Liverpool added, “I felt like a song as powerful as Forever had to have a video. Thanks to Tony Reames, who directed most of Phife’s videos, we were able to complete this to round off the album’s third single.”

The Estate unveiled the single, of the same name, “Forever” on Saturday, March 19th. The single, recorded on March 19, 2016, marks the last song ever recorded by Phife Dawg as he transitioned only a few days later.

Before his untimely passing in 2016, the four-time GRAMMY® Award-nominated multiplatinum New York-born MC and member of A Tribe Called Quest, spent time working on the album, partnering with trusted collaborators, and assembling a catalog of songs representative of his art.

He carefully assembled a collection of songs earmarked by his signature verbal fireworks, hilarious adlibs, incisive social commentary, and unexpectedly introspective confessions. With the blessing of his family and his most trusted collaborator and business partner, Dion Liverpool (Executive Producer), under their imprint Smokin’ Needles Records, his Estate is ready to unveil his pure vision and final word as a solo rapper. 

The album will includes “Nutshell PART 2” (Ft. Busta Rhymes & Redman), which debuted in 2021. The album will be distributed in partnership with AWAL, who provide strategic distribution and global marketing for Phife’s solo album. 


1. “Cheryl’s Big Son (Intro)”

2. “Only A Coward”

3. “Fallback” ft. Rapsody & Renée Neufville

4. “Nutshell Pt. 2” ft. Busta Rhymes & Redman

5. “Sorry” ft. V.Rich

6. “Dear Dilla (Reprise)” ft. Q-Tip

7. “Wow Factor” ft. Maseo of De La Soul

8. “Residual Curiosities” ft. Lyric Jones

9. “God Send” ft. Dwele

10. “Round Irving High School” ft. Cheryl Boyce-Taylor & Angela Winbush

11. “French Kiss Trois” ft. Redman & Illa J

12. “2 Live Forever” ft. Pos of De La Soul, Little Brother & Darien Brockington

13. “Forever”

The wait is finally over!

Subscribe to Radio Facts

* indicates required

Popular Posts


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here