Digital and Radio Facts:

WARREN G’S MULTI-PLATINUM Regulate…G Funk Era (20th Anniversary) (2LP)
New packages include original album on CD with three new EDM remixes of title track, and a two-LP vinyl set featuring a bonus 12” with two of those remixes; digital version mastered for iTunes, set for December 9 release

Grammy®-nominated hip-hop pioneer Warren G is a Long Beach rapper widely considered to have had a major influence on modern rap music. He was one of the founding members of the legendary group 213 (named after the city’s area code) with Nate Dogg and Snoop Dogg, went on to collaborate with Dr. Dre on The Chronic, and produced and appeared on the Mista Grimm single “Indo Smoke” from the Poetic Justice soundtrack. After a lively bidding war, Warren was signed to Def Jam, which released his debut album, Regulate…G Funk Era (20th Anniversary) (2LP)
in 1994, with the title track climbing to No. 2 on the Billboard Hot 100. To celebrate the 20th Anniversary of this landmark release, and to commemorate his contribution to the Def Jam label which celebrates it’s 30th Anniversary this year, a new “Extended Edition” CD version with three new EDM remixes by Destructo & Wax Motif, Photek and Jauz, and a double-vinyl version, featuring the album along with a bonus 12” (with the Destructo/Wax Motif and Photek remixes), will be released on Def Jam/Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) on December 9, 2014. A digital version will also be available on all leading online retailers as well as Mastered For iTunes (MFiT).

Originally released by the late Chris Light’s Violator label through Def Jam, Regulate…G Funk Era (20th Anniversary) (2LP)
debuted at No. 2 on the Billboard Top 200, eventually going triple-platinum, selling three million albums in the U.S. The single, “Regulate” is a “gritty depiction of West Coast life in the Black community” which sampled Michael McDonald’s “I Keep Forgettin’ (Every Time You’re Near),” and featured Nate Dogg. Warren G received a pair of Grammy® nominations, including Best Rap Solo Performance (for “This D.J.”) and Best Rap Performance by a Duo or Group (“Regulate”), as well as nominations from the American Music Awards and Soul Train, among others.

Regulate…G Funk Era (20th Anniversary) (2LP)
1. Regulate (featuring Nate Dogg)
2. Do You See
3. Gangsta Sermon (featuring Ricky Harris)
4. Recognize (featuring The Twinz)
5. Super Soul Sis (featuring Jah Skills)
6. 94 Ho Draft (featuring Ricky Harris)
7. So Many Ways (featuring Wayniac and Lady Levi)
8. This D.J. (featuring O.G.L.B.)
9. This is the Shack (featuring The Dove Shack)
10. What’s Next (featuring Mr. Malik)
11. And Ya Don’t Stop
12. Runnin’ wit No Breaks (featuring Jah Skills, Bo Roc, G Child and The Twinz)

Extended Edition CD Bonus Tracks
13. Regulate (Destructo & Wax Motif Remix)*
14. Regulate (Photek Remix)**
15. Regulate (Jauz Remix)

*A-side of 12” bonus vinyl disc
**B-side of 12” bonus vinyl disc

Popular Posts


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here