Radio Facts
Home » BLOG » Bootsy Collins Returns With First New Album In Five Years, ‘Tha Funk Capitol Of The World,’ Out April 26

Bootsy Collins Returns With First New Album In Five Years, ‘Tha Funk Capitol Of The World,’ Out April 26


EPK (VIDEO): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fuCoZMo5j28

The #1 Funkateer Of All Time Teams With George Clinton, , Snoop Dogg, Rev. , Dr. Cornel West, Samuel L. Jackson, , Ice Cube And More On Star-Studded Album

Rock & Roll Hall Of Famer and legendary bassist Bootsy Collins, known worldwide for pioneering funk music with James Brown and , will release his first new album in five years, ‘Tha Funk Capitol of the World,’ April 26 on Mascot Records. Collins collaborated with fellow P-Funkers George Clinton and Bernie Worrell on the record, along with an all-star lineup of musicians and cultural luminaries including rappers Snoop Dogg, Chuck D, and Ice Cube; actor Samuel L. Jackson; banjo phenom Bela Fleck; the Rev. Al Sharpton; scholar Dr. Cornel West; and guitarists Buckethead and Catfish Collins – Bootsy’s late brother. Engineered in part by Dan Monti (Guns n Roses, Metallica), the album also features a tribute to Garry Shider, the late guitarist and musical director of the P-Funk All-Stars.

The album’s 16 tracks are sonically rooted in Bootsy’s earth-shaking party grooves, but songs like “Freedumb” and “Minds Under Construction” reveal higher ambitions. “There are real messages on this album that I wanted to share,” explains Collins, whose soul-deep rhythms and layered melodies are punctuated by lyrics that range from meditations on the nature of truth and spiritual transcendence, to blissed-out joy.

Collins is a singularly influential bassist. His star-shaped “Space Bass” and the driving grooves he produced with it have become synonymous with modern funk and inspired everyone from The Red Hot Chili Peppers and Primus to NWA and OutKast. Aside from his seminal work with James Brown and George Clinton, Collins achieved considerable success as a frontman for several groups, including Bootsy’s Rubber Band, which recorded the #1 hit single “Bootzilla” and “I’d Rather Be With You.” More recently, Collins collaborated with Talib Kweli and Hi-Tek for 2009’s “Internet Connection.” In 2010, Bootsy was awarded Bass Player Magazine’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

More album details and tour dates will soon be announced.

‘Tha Funk Capitol Of The World’ Tracklist:

1. Intro
2. Hip Hop @ Funk U (ft. Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg, & Chuck D)
3. Mirrors Tell Lies (ft. Jimi Hendrix)
4. JB-Still The Man (ft. Rev. Al Sharpton)
5. Freedumb (ft. Dr. Cornel West)
6. After These Messages (ft. Samuel L. Jackson)
7. Kool Whip (ft. Phil Ade & iCandice)
8. The Real Deal (ft. Sheila E. & iCandice)
9. Don’t Take My Funk (ft. Catfish Collins & Bobby Womack)
10. If Looks Could Kill (ft. Bela Fleck, Zionplanet-10, & Dennis Chambers)
11. Minds Under Construction (ft. Buckethead & (Z-Class))
12. Siento Bombo (ft. Olvido Ruiz & Ouiwey)
13. Garry Shider Tribute (ft. George Clinton & Linda Shider)
14. Stars Have No Names (They Just Shine) (ft. Nick Arnold & Chrissy Dunn)
15. Chocolate Caramel Angel (ft. Faith Daniels, Ronni Racket, & Casper)
16. Yummy, I Got The Munchies (ft. Musiq Soulchild, Razzberry Hershey & Tom Joyner)
Stream the first single “Don’t Take My Funk” exclusively on RollingStone.com!
Don’t Take My Funk (AUDIO): https://www1.rollingstone.com/hearitnow/player/bootsycollins.html

Take a voyage with Bootsy Collins to “Tha Funk Capital Of The World” in this funktastical EPK! We promise you’ve never been funked like this before!
Bootsy Collins EPK (VIDEO): https://www..com/watch?v=fuCoZMo5j28

Related posts

Kendrick Lamar Refuses to Attend GQ Men of the Year Event over Insulting Magazine Feature with Racist Overtones

Kevin Ross

Ola Ray from Michael Jackson’s Thriller Video, Does Tribute (vid)

Kevin Ross

Why is #NoNotoriety only used for whites?

Rainer Harris

Oliver Stephan Jackson “DJ Big O” Takes on PD/MD Role at WTSX

Hassahn Liggins

Omarion Stops By KBXX

Hassahn Liggins

Chicago’s Soul 106.3 Adds Classic Hip Hop Show

Hassahn Liggins


Karen Jones March 19, 2011 at 1:17 pm

Im so glad We have you to make sure the funk never dies. “WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW IS FUNK SWEET FUNK”

Joan Cowans March 20, 2011 at 2:43 pm

Can’t wait for the release April 26 “Love it keep the funk alive”

Cassandra March 26, 2011 at 11:12 am



Leave a Comment